10 New Burlington Street – London

previous arrow
next arrow
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

10 New Burlington Street

LONDON

London has been experiencing an historic building boom since the turn of the millennium. Schneider was also responsible for the design and installation of the impressive, award-winning double façade for the 10 New Burlington Street project.

High-tech façade against an historical backdrop. The 10 New Burlington Street project on the corner of Regent Street and New Burlington Street is a prime example of successful inner-city modernisation. Only two listed Portland stone façades from the period between 1895 and 1927, when London’s top shopping mile was first modernised, and brick vaults from the early 19th century remained. Since 2014 an ultra-modern, sustainable mixed building with a total of 12,500 square metres of high-quality office and retail space has risen up on the area behind it. The double façade that is gently curved upwards and downwards and visible from the other two sides of the building complex, has won several awards.

A stable fit for curved and inclined glass. The curved double façade of the 10 Burlington Street project features both an unusual mix of materials and high levels of energy efficiency. The primary façade was designed with an American white oak and aluminium frame construction and parallel opening windows. In addition to the aesthetic reasons, the ecological aspect was above all decisive here: The building material of wood contains little grey energy and is 100% recyclable. In order to minimise the solar input, the double glazing of the external façade was low-E coated and partially printed. The conically shaped insulating glass units for the corners were particularly challenging. In addition to the construction and installation of the double façade, Schneider was also responsible for the design of the atrium façades, the glass roof and the lamella façades and balustrades.

PROJECT DATA

BUILDING CONTRACTOR

The Crown Estate / Exemplar Properties

ARCHITECT

AHMM architects, London

CLIENT

Mace Group Ltd.

PROJECT PERIOD

2012 - 2014

FACADE AREA

4,200 m²

TYPE OF CONSTRUCTION

Elemented double facade: One- and two-dimensionally curved wood-aluminium element facade with external all-glass appearance (structural glazing); glass roof; wood lamella cladding; atrium facades and balustrades.

10 New Burlington Street – London

previous arrow
next arrow
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

10 New Burlington Street

LONDON

London erlebt seit der Jahrtausendwende einen historischen Bauboom. Auch bei dem Projekt 10 Burlington Street war Schneider für Konstruktion und Montage der beeindruckenden, preisgekrönten Doppelfassade verantwortlich.  

Hightech-Fassade hinter historischer Kulisse. Das Projekt 10 New Burlington Street an der Ecke Regent Street und New Burlington Street ist ein Paradebeispiel für eine gelungene, innerstädtische Modernisierung. Nur zwei denkmalgeschützte Portlandsteinfassaden aus der Zeit zwischen 1895 und 1927, als Londons Top Einkaufsmeile erstmals modernisiert wurde, sowie gemauerte Gewölbe aus dem frühen 19. Jahrhundert blieben erhalten. Auf der Fläche dahinter erhebt sich seit 2014 ein hochmodernes, nachhaltiges Mischgebäude mit insgesamt 12.500 m2 hochwertigen Büro- und Retailflächen. Die nach unten und oben sanft gebogene Doppelfassade, die zu den anderen beiden Seiten des Gebäudekomplexes hin sichtbar ist, wurde mehrfach preisgekrönt.

Stabiler Halt für gebogenes und geneigtes Glas. Die gebogene Doppelfassade des Projektes 10 Burlington Street verfügt sowohl über einen ungewöhnlichen Materialmix als auch über eine hohe Energieeffizienz. Die Primärfassade wurde mit einer Rahmenkonstruktion aus Amerikanischer Weißeiche und Aluminium sowie Parallelausstellfenstern ausgeführt. Neben ästhetischen Gründen entschied vor allem der ökologische Aspekt: Das Baumaterial Holz beinhaltet wenig graue Energie und ist 100 % recycelbar. Um den Solareintrag zu minimieren war die Doppelverglasung der Außenfassade Low-E-beschichtet und partiell bedruckt. Eine besondere Herausforderung stellten die konisch geformten Isolierglaseinheiten für die Ecken dar. Schneider war neben der Konstruktion und Montage der Doppelfassade unter anderem für die Ausführung der Atriumfassaden, des Glasdachs sowie der Lamellenfassaden und Balustraden verantwortlich.

PROJEKTDATEN

BAUHERR

The Crown Estate / Exemplar Properties

ARCHITEKT

AHMM architects, London

AUFTRAGGEBER

Mace Group Ltd.

LEISTUNGSZENTRUM

2012 - 2014

FASSADENFLÄCHE

4.200 m²

AUSFÜHRUNGSART

Elementierte Doppelfassade: Ein- und Zweidimensional gebogene Holz-Aluminium Elementfassade mit äußeren Ganzglasoptik (Structural Glazing); Glasdach; Holzlamellenverkleidungen; Atriumfassaden und Balustraden.