Inselhalle – Lindau

previous arrow
next arrow
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

Inselhalle

LINDAU

The conference hall Inselhalle Lindau that was constructed in 1981, could no longer offer a contemporary ambience for conferences and congresses. An integrated concept unites the existing and new buildings under a common polygonal roof and a design hallmark. Schneider was responsible among other things for the realisation of the vertical sheet metal façade and the mullion and transom façade.

Every year Nobel Prize winners meet up with young scientists in the Inselhalle. Who wouldn’t want to attend a conference in idyllic surroundings, accompanied by a view of the water and mountains. But in this day and age a modern conference location is needed for this purpose and the old Inselhalle Lindau no longer fulfilled these criteria. Following three years of renovation, the conference centre was reopened in 2018 with the options of a flexible room layout and state-of-the-art technology. Auer Weber Architekten left the actual hall largely unchanged; only floor-level doors facing the lake were integrated. The newly constructed, fully glazed foyer, hall and ancillary buildings were connected using polygonally folded, copper-coloured roof surfaces made of aluminium plate and thus capturing the existing roof shape. A multi-storey car park with fire station and boat landing stage was constructed on the opposite side of the newly designed forecourt.

Copper for the façades determines the appearance. The colours and materials of the new ensemble are restricted to black, white, grey, the copper roof based on the tiled roofs of the old town and the oak that dominates the conference hall. The metallic character of the hall roof is reflected in the sheet metal façade of the Inselhalle and multi-storey car park, which was constructed by Schneider. Powder-coated and edged aluminium sheets as well as narrow, aluminium strips shimmering in a copper colour imbue the buildings with a warm, lively character. As uniform as its appearance may now seem, the challenges for planning, production and installation of the sheet metal façade were set against this most diverse. The various fixing substrates of steel, concrete and drywall construction required amended calculations of the movement and tolerance absorption. Moreover, due to the shape and the many corners of the building hardly any part was identical. The breakdown of the glazed aluminium mullion and transom façade with bird protection screen printing was intended to harmonise perfectly with the edge sheeting and in the case of the multi-storey car park, the perforated pattern of the sheet metal façade had to sit precisely on the edge.

PROJECT DATA

BUILDING CONTRACTOR

City of Lindau

ARCHITECT

Auer Weber Architekten BDA

PROJECT PERIOD

2016 - 2018

FACADE AREA

5.000 m²

TYPE OF CONSTRUCTION

Renovation and extension Inselhalle: glazed aluminium mullion and transom façade, aluminium-edged sheet metal cold façade, Foyer: glazed steel roof mullion and transom façade, car park: lower level and GF in aluminium window door construction, L1-3 with special aluminium perforated edge sheet metal cold façade (sheet metal façade).

Inselhalle – Lindau

previous arrow
next arrow
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

Inselhalle

LINDAU

Die im Jahr 1981 errichtete Lindauer Inselhalle bot für Tagungen und Kongresse kein zeitgemäßes Ambiente mehr. Ein ganzheitliches Konzept vereint Bestand und Neubauten unter einem gemeinsamen polygonalen Dach und einer gestalterischen Handschrift. Schneider war unter anderem für die Realisierung der vertikalen Blechfassade und der Pfosten-Riegel-Fassade verantwortlich.

Jedes Jahr treffen sich Nobelpreisträger mit Jungwissenschaftlern in der Inselhalle. Wer möchte nicht in einer idyllischen Umgebung tagen, mit Blick auf Wasser und Berge. Doch dazu braucht es in der heutigen Zeit eine zeitgemäße Konferenzlocation und die alte Inselhalle Lindau erfüllte diese Kriterien nicht mehr. Nach dreijähriger Sanierung wurde das Tagungshaus 2018 mit der Möglichkeit flexibler Raumeinteilung und modernster Technik wiedereröffnet. Auer Weber Architekten beließ den eigentlichen Saal weitgehend unverändert, es wurden nur bodentiefe Türen zum See hin integriert. Das neu gebaute, vollverglaste Foyer, Halle und Nebengebäude fassten die Architekten über polygonal gefaltete, kupferfarbene Dachflächen aus Aluminiumblech zusammen und griffen so die bestehende Dachform auf. Auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite des frisch gestalteten Vorplatzes wurde ein Parkhaus mit Feuerwache und Bootsanlieger errichtet.

Kupfer für die Fassaden bestimmt das Erscheinungsbild. Farben und Materialien des neuen Ensembles beschränken sich auf Schwarz, Weiß, Grau, das von den Ziegeldächern der Altstadt abgeleitete Kupferdach und die im Saal dominierende Eiche. Das Metallische des Hallendachs findet sich an der von Schneider realisierten Blechfassade von Inselhalle und Parkhaus wieder. Pulverbeschichtete und gekantete Aluminiumbleche sowie schmale, kupfern schimmernde Aluminiumbänder geben den Gebäuden einen warmen, lebhaften Charakter. So einheitlich das Bild heute erscheint, so divers waren die Herausforderungen für Planung, Fertigung und Montage der Blechfassade. Die verschiedenen Befestigungsuntergründe Stahl, Beton und Trockenbau erforderten angepasste Berechnungen der Bewegungs- und Toleranzaufnahmen. Darüber hinaus war aufgrund der Form und der vielen Gebäudeecken kaum ein Teil identisch. Die Aufteilung der verglasten Aluminium-Pfosten-Riegel-Fassade mit Vogelschutzsiebdruck sollte perfekt mit dem Kantblech harmonieren und beim Parkhaus musste das Lochmuster der Blechfassade genau auf der Kante sitzen.

PROJEKTDATEN

BAUHERR

Stadt Lindau

ARCHITEKT

Auer Weber Architekten BDA

LEISTUNGSZENTRUM

2016 - 2018

FASSADENFLÄCHE

5.000 m²

AUSFÜHRUNGSART

Sanierung und Erweiterung Inselhalle: verglaste Aluminium-Pfosten-Riegel-Fassade, Aluminium-Kantblech-Kalt-Fassade, Foyer: verglaste Stahl-Pfosten-Riegel-Dach-Fassade, Parkhaus: UG und EG in Aluminium-Fenster-/Türkonstruktion, 1.-3.OG mit Sonder-Aluminium-Loch-Kantblech-Kalt-Fassade (Blechfassade).